“Monarch and Woodland Sunflowers”

“Monarch and Woodland Sunflowers”

“It is strange how new and unexpected conditions bring out unguessed ability to meet them.”
― Edgar Rice Burroughs

I did not set out to photograph flowers or butterflies this day. I was hoping to catch the Atlantic Salmon run at the Whitevale dam. I’ve gone there in the spring many times and have had good success with photographing the rainbow trout migration. However, I have yet to witness the salmon run which happens in the fall along the same creek. I will have to keep checking back.

What did happen on this hike was I found myself in a deep grove of woodland sunflowers that towered over my head. I made a few photos of them but the scale was lost in the photo. As a came around a bend in the creek, which ran right next to me, I looked up and saw this monarch butterfly resting peacefully on one of the sunflowers. I never did get a clear shot of him, but the photo above was one of the better views. It’s these unexpected moments that keep me constantly learning about my camera and to be prepared for any eventuality, lest I miss it, and the moment becomes mere memory.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/100 sec, f/5.0, ISO 400

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Monarch and Woodland Sunflowers”

  1. jmnowak

    this is an excellent quick capture, Ed! I appreciate the difficulty. And those wispy sunflowers are delightful too. We don’t have them here! But our Western Australian native wildflowers are really blooming at the moment (Spring being the best time, and because we’ve had the best rain for many years to encourage them). Looking forward to the salmon…

    Reply
  2. Pingback: “Monarch and Woodland Sunflowers” — Ed Lehming Photography – lifedornet

Leave a Reply

