“Chanterelles”

“Chanterelles”

“And into the forest I go, to lose my mind and find my soul”
John Muir

It’s that time of year again. Time to wander the forest paths and refresh myself. Cool days, plenty of moisture provides the stuff for mushrooms. I’m not sure where my strange fascination for fungi comes from. Perhaps it’s because they are such temporal things. A ‘prime’ specimen may last mere hours and then fade away into a slimy ooze. They also offer such wonderful colours and textures.

I’ve also noticed that I’m not alone in my interest in the fungus among us. Fellow blogger Pete Hillman shares this fascination as well as many of my photographer friends. There is usually the additional challenge of light, or lack thereof, when photographing mushrooms, they are not big fans of sunshine and the best specimens often inhabit the darker recesses of the forest. This means tripods and long exposures, not to mention some narrow aperture macros to capture all the textures crisply.

I’ll try to limit my mushroom posts and try to spread them out, but it’s a short season.

The Chanterelle above brings back fond memories of growing up in a German household where Pfifferlinge were considered a rare treat, usually purchased in their dehydrated form from the local delicatessen. With a slightly nutty, yet peppery flavour, these tasty mushrooms were saved for special occasions and usually served with a nice pork roast. While I was tempted to harvest them, there were no other colonies to be found, so I left them and took only the photo, noting the location, and hoping they spread around the area for a future visit.

Nikon D800
Nikor 24-70mm f/3.5-4.6 @ 55mm (12mm extension tube)
0.4 sec, f/20.0, ISO 400

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

10 thoughts on ““Chanterelles”

  1. Joanne Sisco

    This is an awesome photo Ed. I’m saying this because I’m looking at it on the world’s worst computer … so if I go ‘wow’ using this piece of crap, I can only imagine how amazing it would look on a quality screen. I repeat, wow!

    Reply
  2. laura lecce

    Hi Ed,
    I most certainly share your love of mushrooms, and thing this is a wonderful photo! They have such beautiful shapes, and the light just glows off the top, fantastic. Look forward to seeing more!
    Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

