“Shouting Orchid”

“Shouting Orchid”

“Dream delivers us to dream, and there is no end to illusion. Life is like a train of moods like a string of beads, and, as we pass through them, they prove to be many-colored lenses which paint the world their own hue. . . . ”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

Every now and then, the eye picks up on a pattern and the brain translates it into something familiar. As I reviewed my image of this orchid made a few weeks back, I could not stop seeing a mouth wide open, in a shout or scream. It’s a strange phenomenon, how our brain is programmed to humanize things like this. Or, am I the only one who sees this? I’ll leave it to you to decide.

In any case, I’m pleased with the orchid itself. As I’ve noted before, the deep burgundy, with notes of subtle orange was very difficult to capture and reproduce accurately, since the image is quite dark to start with. As I sat with the original orchid next to my screen, comparing the colour casts and highlights, I was quite pleased at how it turned out, despite it’s gaping mouth.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200mm
1 sec, f/20.0, ISO 400

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

10 thoughts on ““Shouting Orchid”

  1. lauramacky

    I think what I love about your photos of flowers, besides the beautiful clarity and color is that you don’t go deep down into them. I’m not much for the macro photography where the focus is on part of a petal etc. Orchids to me can be not very attractive when photographed in that manner…at least to my taste. I really LOVE this photo of the orchid. So gorgeous!!

    Reply
  2. zer0distance

    I really love your work – these flowers on dark background look gorgeous and there’s something really impressive about these photos. Also, I guess you’re not the only one who’s seeing these things – happens to me a lot, too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

