“Blazing Sunflower”

“Blazing Sunflower”

“I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual. It is surprising how contented one can be with nothing definite – only a sense of existence. Well, anything for variety. I am ready to try this for the next ten thousand years, and exhaust it. How sweet to think of! My extremities well charred, and my intellectual part too, so that there is no danger of worm or rot for a long while. My breath is sweet to me. O how I laugh when I think of my vague indefinite riches. No run on my bank can drain it, for my wealth is not possession but enjoyment.”
― Henry David Thoreau

Happy Thanksgiving to my friends and family here in Canada. What more appropriate flower for the day than this bright sunflower, it’s face tilted upward to greet the sun, blazing with its own light? A true fall blossom.

The autumn has proven a great opportunity for me to make these still-life images of plants and flowers. Many, like this one, were temporarily ‘borrowed’ from bouquets in our living room. My wife smiles as she sees me extract yet another ‘subject’ from the vase for a few minutes and then return it to the arrangement.

My theory is, the flowers only last while, but the photo preserves the beauty for many years to come.

Nikon D800
Nikor 24-70mm f/3.5-4.6 @ 70mm
1 /4 sec, f/22.0, ISO 400

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

7 thoughts on ““Blazing Sunflower”

Leave a Reply

