“Sunlight through Yellow Leaves”

“Sunlight through Yellow Leaves”

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”
― Lauren DeStefano

One of the beautiful effects of autumn is the glow of sunlight through changing leaves. My son referred to it a few days a ago as “looking like stained glass”. There are times when the forest glows in surreal colours, softly diffused in the air around us. It’s soothing and wonderful. This is one of the many reasons I try to get outside as much as possible at this time of year, even if only for a few minutes.

I set out this past weekend to capture some fall images. The trees here are just starting to show their colours, sometimes in single trees, and other times larger groves, though the colour change seems to be limited to the canopy and has not yet filtered to the lower leaves, keeping the forest interiors mainly green, for now.

The image above was mad at the trailhead, just outside my car. I really did not have to go far for this and several other images. I did send the next hour or so on the trail, mainly photographing mushrooms, as the forest was still quite green, with a few exceptions, like the yellow leaves above.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/125 sec, f/6.3, ISO 800

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

14 thoughts on ““Sunlight through Yellow Leaves”

  1. Joanne Sisco

    There are few things more glorious than a bright sunny day in October with light shining through the yellows and reds. Your quote expresses it perfectly – its like the grand finale to nature’s annual performance.

    Reply
  2. Written Therapy

    This is gorgeous. As a kiddo I would lie out beneath the trees and stare up to look at the sun lighting up the leaves😀 My favorites being the yellows and red. They were like art.

    Reply
  3. carol hopkins

    Fall is so resplendent with colour! I have been out on several trips to capture nature’s bounty once again. I don’t know what I will do with all the photographs but I enjoyed myself immensely. In my part of the world the trees are partially naked – leaves cover the ground everywhere. Ok enough about me – I truly enjoy your photographs. I love this “sunlight through yellow leaves”. Awesome shot!

    Reply
      1. carol hopkins

        Ontario is absolutely gorgeous in the fall – lived there for many years. I am in northern Alberta now and fall is extremely short here. And you are most welcome!

Leave a Reply

