“A Mix of Sun and Cloud” – Altona, Ontario

“A Mix of Sun and Cloud” - Altona, Ontario

“Just as a painter needs light in order to put the finishing touches to his picture, so I need an inner light, which I feel I never have enough of in the autumn.”
― Leo Tolstoy

I’ve titled myself a ‘photo opportunist’ a few times. Really, it’s all about being prepared for any eventuality. This means knowing my gear, settings, and my surroundings. A lot has to do with experience, most bad to mediocre. The many images that ‘could have been’, but did not turn out because I was not properly prepared and inexperienced.

This was not the case today. I went for a brief drive through the countryside near my house. It made for a nice lunch break and cleared my mind.

The forecast was for a mix of sun and cloud and that is exactly what we got. A newscaster this morning asked where the line is between this forecast and mostly sunny or mostly cloudy. That seemed to depend on the time of day, as the cloud cover was very variable, but looking distinctly like autumn, with heavy clouds passing by quickly overhead, a cool breeze and the threat of intermittent showers at any time.

The trick, if you will, to photographing in these conditions is simply patience and choosing a subject and location. As I drove down the country lane, I noticed this cluster of maple trees lit up by a narrow sliver of sun, with the contrasting dark sky as a backdrop. Determined to capture this, I got closer, framed my shot and sat, waiting for another break in the cloud. I was not disappointed. Within minutes, the sun broke through the clouds, setting the trees ablaze with light, while leaving the foreground in shadow. The effect is stunning and I was able to accurately capture one of those great autumn moments to share here.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom
@ 122 mm
1/250 sec, f/8.0, ISO 400

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

6 thoughts on ““A Mix of Sun and Cloud” – Altona, Ontario

  1. K. Joseph

    I know exactly what you are talking about when you mention the nature of the autumn days, and also when you note the need for patience and how it is all about the timing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

