“Backroads Colour” – 28th Sideline, Pickering

“Backroads Colour” - 28th Sideline, Pickering

“The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say”
― J.R.R. Tolkien

A convenient five minute drive from my house is this little country oasis, which also happens to adjacent to the farm my mother in law grew up on. The the family was forced off the land many years ago when the property was expropriated for use as a future airport (which after forty years, has not happened, and hopefully won’t).

This beautiful country road is one of the few remaining in the area where maple trees lean over the road, making a tunnel of colour . I had visited two weeks ago and the trees were just starting to show colour. Then, I had to travel for a week on business. When I return this past weekend, some of the trees had already shed their leaves, but what remained was beautiful, nonetheless.

I’m believing this may be an abbreviated autumn, in terms of colourful leaves, we’ve already had several days of cool, wet weather, with strong winds, which has knocked a lot of the leaves down already. So, I drink it in while I can, make photos, when I can, and simply enjoy the season.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom
@ 70 mm
1/125 sec, f/5.6, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

13 thoughts on ““Backroads Colour” – 28th Sideline, Pickering

  1. Bulldog Travels

    Very pretty. I am with you. I feel like the leaves are turning quick and falling quick. Up here in Auburn they don’t seem as vibrant as in year’s past. But, then again perhaps it is just a little early. It hasn’t been too cold yet.

    Reply
      1. Bulldog Travels

        well, we still need more water! My grandfather said you could always tell by how many pine cones were on the tree. As I look around I don’t see many but if you talk to my family they tell me they see lots and it will be a long winter. What do the pine cones tell you on your end of the valley?

  2. Vicki

    beautiful photo, especially with the dark clouds in the background. We have been getting a lot of rain in the past couple of weeks so the leaves are falling quickly here as well.. when sunshine comes it’s out with the camera. But I am thankful for every drop of rain we get.

    Reply
  3. the only deadhead in the hameau

    Lovely. There is nothing to compare with autumn colours, especially after rain. Here in the middle of France they are already forecasting the coldest winter in the last hundred years and there are certainly more rose hips than usual to be seen, which was always seen as a sign of a hard winter when I was growing up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

