“The Light from Within”

“The Light from Within”

Why we love with close hearts
Why we love with souls apart
Let the love flow from hearts to souls,
Let the world glow”
― Megha Khare

For the past few years I have found great pleasure in creating these photo abstractions, all done in camera, no Photoshop blur effects.

Several years ago, I was introduced to this technique by a photographer friend who did these for a brief period. She was kind enough to give me some pointers and I took that technique and personalized it. Since I make these images free-standing, each image is slightly different and unique. I usually make three or four and decide on which I like best. I always have a vision in mind but they are always a surprise. The light plays in such unique ways that it is hard to fully predict the outcome, though I have gotten better , I think, in my initial composition.

The image above was made as I was on the inner edge of a pine forest. The sun was shining brightly on the maples and birches just outside, creating this gorgeous glow, which reflected onto the forest floor. Many of the details are missed in the viewfinder, like the green grasses in the foreground and the solitary green leaf, glowing in front of the pines.

The forest, though seemingly dark, is alight with this reflected glow which seems to come from the ground itself, despite the cooling temperatures as we approach the inevitable winter time. You’d almost think it could melt the snow. I’m hoping for a few more days of this warm fall light.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 80 mm
1/4 sec, f/25.0, ISO 200

High resolution image can be viewed on 500px

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

20 thoughts on ““The Light from Within”

  1. Pingback: noblely's Blog

Leave a Reply

