“Chickory”

“Chickory”

“A fleeting moment can become an eternity. From a past encounter everything may disappear in the dungeon of forgetfulness. A few furtive flashes or innocent twinkles can survive, though. Some immaterial details may remain marked in our memory, forever. A significant look, a salient colour or a unforeseen gesture may abide, indelibly engraved in our mind.”
― Erik Pevernagie

It continues to be dull and cold outside and I’ve been feeling under the weather with a nasty stomach bug of some sort. So, I went back to a few of the outdoor macro images I made this past summer and picked one of my favourites, the chickory flower.

There are very few things in nature that are naturally blue and this is one of them. They grow wild, especially in poor and stoney soil, in my area from June to October, depending on the weather. I made this image while on a photoshoot with my son back in late September, using my portable studio. I think the natural light does a nice job at bringing out all the textures and retaining teh natural colour, though the light that afternoon was quite hot and patchy, with nice gusty winds thrown in to increase the challenge level, especially when trying to show detail.

Despite the challenges presented, I’m very pleased with this image, which shows all the fine details often overlooked as we pass by these roadside weeds.

Nikon D800
Nikor AFS Micro 60mm f/2.8 US @ 60 mm

1/125 sec, f/18.0, ISO 400

High Resolution image on 500px

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming 
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

18 thoughts on ““Chickory”

Leave a Reply

