“Pacific Surge”

“Leading Edge”“Passing Wave”“I really don’t know why it is that all of us are so committed to the sea, except I think it’s because in addition to the fact that the sea changes, and the light changes, and ships change, it’s because we all came from the sea. And it is an interesting biological fact that all of us have in our veins the exact same percentage of salt in our blood that exists in the ocean, and, therefore, we have salt in our blood, in our sweat, in our tears. We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea – whether it is to sail or to watch it – we are going back from whence we came.
― John F. Kennedy

On this rare occasion, I am posting two photos on the same post. The two are necessary to show just how intense even a slight surge can be when it come to the vast body of water known as the Pacific Ocean.

The photos were made on our way back in from whale watching. I had not paid much attention to the water, since I was so focused on observing and photographing the whales (see my previous posts). In a few of those photos, you can see other vessels dropping behind waves but it was even more pronounced as we came closer to shore and I could see just how high some of these swells really were.

At first glance, you might think it’s simply my horizon that is off, yet the horizon is perfectly level, but the boat I was in was riding the lead edge of a wave. Again, I was really more focused on photographing the surf on the rocks and it was not till I started reviewing the images that I noticed just how intense these surges really were. I guess I had my sea legs, since it did not bother me at all.

The first image is of the rocky coast just north of Cabo san Lucas, Mexico. The rocks are polished smooth by eons of wear by the ever active ocean and are part of the thirty million year old granite structure that makes up most of the Baja Peninsula. A pelican graces the top of one of the lower spires. Can you see it?

The second image shows the wave as it passes by next to the boat, obscuring most of the rocks visible in the first image. I’d estimate the swells to be about two to three meters high. It’s a bit disappointing that I did not use a narrower aperture because the camera now focused on the water, rather than the shoreline. Next time I’ll manually focus. I also zoomed out a bit to show the size of the waves.

Image 1.
Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD @ 300 mm
1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 200

Image 2.
Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD @ 200 mm
1/250 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Pacific Surge”

  1. Pazlo

    Being a water child (Cancer on the cusp), I truly enjoyed President Kennedy’s thoughts.

    My favorite quote from President Kennedy:

    “Pray not for easier lives.
    Pray to be stronger men.”
    – JFK

    Seek peace,

    Paz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

