“Siberian Squill”

“Siberian Squill”

“If you wish to make anything grow, you must understand it, and understand it in a very real sense. ‘Green fingers’ are a fact, and a mystery only to the unpracticed. But green fingers are the extensions of a verdant heart.”
― Russell Page

It’s definitely not the most attractive name for this spring garden standard, but there you have it. In my area, there are a few rural properties where the entire yard is filled with this delicate blue flower, albeit for only a few short days, till they die off and grass dominates once more.

We have a small cluster of them in our front gardens and they are among the first signs of life in that particular flower bed. Fine grass-like leaves emerge for the cold ground, and after a few days of milder temperatures, the flowers appear.

I have to admit, this is yet another of those ‘taken for granted’ items that I have never taken the time to really look at, so it made a great subject to bring into the studio for a macro view. After the first set up shot, I looked at my camera screen and was stunned at how magnificently beautiful this slight flower really is. Seeing it in the garden, so diminutive, I would not have guessed at this, which has quickly made it one of my favourite floral images of the season.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP AF 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 (272ENII)@90mm
1.0 sec, f/29.0 ISO 100

High Resolution Image on 500px

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

23 thoughts on ““Siberian Squill”

  1. jillslawit

    Certainly does have the WOW factor. None of these round Northern England, or at least West Yorkshire where I am,that I’m aware of. I’d love to see some in my garden or in the woods.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

