“Coral Tulip”

“Coral Tulip”

“Gardening is akin to writing stories. No experience could have taught me more about grief or flowers, about achieving survival by going, your fingers in the ground, the limit of physical exhaustion.”
― Eudora Welty

Here’s another addition to my collection of spring flowers from the garden. It’s becoming a bit of a series that I’m considering naming “Facing the Flowers”.

This particular tulip came, as many of our flowers of late have, from my mother-in-law’s garden. When she downsized a few years ago, she could not bear the thought of leaving the plants she had tended for so many years behind. So, we made space and filled our gardens with her treasures. Now, all her work continues to yield wonderful flowers and she enjoys stopping by to see them.

She’ll be ninety-two years old this year and is past her gardening days, but still likes to offer some pointers on what worked best for her when it come to specific varieties. It’s also nice to drop off some cut flowers to her condo, so she can enjoy then at home.

Back to this tulip. It’s a bit of a unique specimen, in its shape and nature. The blossoms had opened up fully a few days ago, but by the time I had the time to photograph them, they had closed back up again, and remained that way for several days. Until yesterday, when they finally saw sunshine and decided to make another show. I took a cutting and brought it inside to my studio for a few photos. Then, I placed it in a vase with a few other flowers. The next time I checked it, it was closed again and has remained so all day. It would appear this is a sunshine only tulip. Based on the forecast of three solid days of rain, I guess I can’t blame it.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP AF 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 (272ENII)@90mm
3.0 sec, f/36.0 ISO 100

High Resolution image on 500px

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Coral Tulip”

Leave a Reply

