“Flowering Dogwood – Square Dance” – Royal Botanical Garden

“Flowering Dogwood - Squaredance” - Royal Botanical Gardens

“A lie has many colours,
while white is the only faithful colour of truth.”
― Munia Khan

This year has been an interesting shift for me, photographically. I tend to lean towards natural places, such as forest trails, rivers, and lakes. This year I’m finding myself also taking in more man-made gardens and cultivated flowers.

Perhaps this is because I’ve been spending more time in my own backyard and going to botanical gardens with my wife for gardening ideas and simply to enjoy the blooms. Of course, I’ve had my camera with me to capture and share those experiences.

Till now, I had not paid much attention to all the flowering trees. It seemed to me that the flowering phase lasted only for a short period, yet now I’m seeing blossoms will into June.

Dogwoods hold a special appeal to me, since I first witnessed the Sierra Dogwoods blooming in Yosemite National Park a few years ago. There is something about the bright green leaves and delicate large blossoms that draws me to them, especially the bright white ones. The variety pictured above is a hybrid called “Square Dance” because of the blossom shapes, they almost form a perfect square. This particular plant was found in the Rock Gardens section of the Royal Botanical Gardens in Burlington, Ontario.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/320 sec, f/9.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 Comments on ““Flowering Dogwood – Square Dance” – Royal Botanical Garden

  1. One of my favourite trees. Now my dogwood fix comes comes in smaller versions … our woods are full of bunchberry this year (Cornus canadensis). Does it grow in Ontario?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.